Disney Announce “The Lion King Soundtrack”

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Now that the live-action remake of Aladdin is out, Disney is turning its attention to promoting The Lion King in earnest. And that means more Beyoncé! The update on the 1994 classic (which stars the likes of Bey and Donald Glover) premieres July 19. Luckily, we’ll be hearing all new takes on the music before then. Today (June 24), Disney announced that the digital version of the soundtrack arrives July 11. The physical copy will arrive alongside the film premiere the following week. And the tracklist is looking very impressive.

What is on it? Reimagined versions of the movie’s beloved hits including “Circle Of Life,” “Hakuna Matata” and “Be Prepared.” There’s also a new Elton John song called “Never Too Late.” That one is written by Elton and Tim Rice, who collaborated on the music for the original film. Where does Bey come in? She and Donald Glover are putting their own touch on “Can You Feel The Love Tonight.” We got a teaser of the update in a new trailer that premiered over the weekend, and it sounds fabulous. There’s another song on the tracklist that doesn’t have a title yet.

Nothing is confirmed, but I’m holding out hope that it is a new song featuring the diva. Other things to keep an eye out for include production from Pharrell Williams and an updated score courtesy of Hans Zimmer. Director Jon Favreau opened up about the importance of the music in a press release. “Even if you don’t know the film or stage show, there is a spiritual strength in it,” he said. “But if you know the film, and if you grew up with this music—now it can suddenly and immediately evoke the story itself, as well as all the connected memories and emotions that you have from your own past experience with The Lion King.”

Get a taste of “Can You Feel The Love Tonight” and check out the tracklist below. You can also pre-order the physical copy here.

“Can You Feel The Love Tonight” Teaser

Here what NaijaBang Has to Say about This;

Within minutes of Disney’s official announcement, the Twitterverse has gone apesh*t over the official tracklisting for The Lion King’s official soundtrack. First off, the soundtrack was arranged in full by the most iconic film composer of his generation: the one, the only Hans Zimmer – in a resumption of his role on the animated original.

The Lion King: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

1. Lindiwe Mkhize / Lebo M: “Circle of Life / Nants’ Ingonyama”
2. Hans Zimmer: “Life’s Not Fair”
3. Hans Zimmer: “Rafiki’s Fireflies”
4. JD McCrary / Shahadi Wright Joseph / John Oliver: “I Just Can’t Wait to Be King”
5. Hans Zimmer: “Elephant Graveyard”
6. Chiwetel Ejiofor: “Be Prepared (2019 Version)”
7. Hans Zimmer: “Stampede”
8. Hans Zimmer: “Scar Takes the Throne”
9. Billy Eichner / Seth Rogen / JD McCrary / Donald Glover: “Hakuna Matata”
10. Hans Zimmer: “Simba Is Alive!”
11. Billy Eichner / Seth Rogen: “The Lion Sleeps Tonight”
12. Beyonce / Donald Glover / Billy Eichner / Seth Rogen: “Can You Feel the Love Tonight”
13. Hans Zimmer: “Reflections of Mufasa”
14. TBA
15. Hans Zimmer: “Battle for Pride Rock”
16. Hans Zimmer: “Remember”
17. Elton John: “Never Too Late”
18 Lebo M: “He Lives in You”
19. Lebo M: “Mbube”

Hipmusic was created and sponsored by Hezekiah, On the 23rd of May 2002. Kindly Send Us message on Whatsapp For Any Inquiries +2348022092166

Leave a Reply